21
Jan
10

The invention of lying – review


So a friend of mine recommends this film. I had sort of idea what it was about but i wasnt too sure how they would make it work. I can’t tell you anything about it except that you should watch it. It’s amazing how much of our life is a lie. The movies we watch are fiction, which is just a fancy word for lie, after all they depict situations that never took place. We lie to the people we love to save them from suffering and sometimes we lie to the people we hate to exaggerate a flaw and make them feel like dirt. I try not to lie so much. Well thats a lie I guess. I have not told the truth i didn’t want to write today, and i was trying to come up with ideas on how to excuse my inability to bla bla about a movie. I felt really bad about the whole camping journal thing. I realize its my own doing because i just decided it wasnt good enough. I was lying to myself.

One of the best things about this movie are the cameo appearances of some of my favorite characters from some great movies and shows. Cant tell you who they are, don’t want to spoil the surprise. The acting is pretty par, i mean it’s a comedy after all, you cant expect Shakespearean performances. But it does the trick. Its got Jennifer Garner, who i think looks like a transvestite. I’m sorry, im terrible but i have to be honest and not lie. She has this hard male like facial angles that fashion magazines love but i don’t. Dont get me wrong if she knocked on my door and requested sexual congress, my answer would not be provided in words, but as far as being the definition of hot?… no.   Ricky Gervais is in it too, he’s pretty cool and is in my opinion the ANTI Hugh Grant. Which makes him a lot more relatable and bearable then his counterpart… annoying Hugh. In general the pace of the film is pretty good, the idea is super brilliant and the way it messes with people belief system is pretty wicked. I really liked that aspect of it.

I remember when i was a kid my mother would tell us that if we walked backwards it would cause ones mother, no matter where she was to drop dead immediately. The thought of mother dying at such a tender age was so unbearable that we didn’t even try it. Later i realized that she lied to us in order for us to avoid a dangerous situation with a tangible consequence. Can you think of any other such similar sets of circumstances?  A set of fictional ideas brought forth in order to keep people from killing, cheating, stealing, and so on? I bet there were children that managed to figure out that walking backwards was just a stupid idea on their own, and that mom would be fine if one decided to do it. But i guess there are people who need to believe in a harsher more defined set of consequences to assimilate that they there are things that should not be done.

0 Responses to “The invention of lying – review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

If you like how i say what i say you may want to recieve email notifications of new material. Be aware that i write a lot so you may just want to bookmark. Movie reviews, general rants, current and past events seen thru the eyes of Peter Waffles.

Join 10 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Rated

Categories


